A Dance with Me

I disappear into the person I love. I am the permeable membrane. If I love you, you can have everything. You can have my time, my devotion, my body, my money, my family – everything. If I love you, I will carry for you all your pain, I will assume for you all your debts, I will protect you from your own insecurity, I will project upon you all sorts of good qualities that you have never actually cultivated in yourself. I will give you the sun and the rain. I will give you all of this and more, until I get so exhausted and depleted that the only way I can recover my energy is by becoming infatuated with someone else.

~ Eat Pray Love

When I read this, I could do nothing but let my head fall back and shut my eyes so tightly that it made me dizzy. Ugh…what true love is, is now, what it always was to me. If I choose to love you, then I dedicate my faithfulness to you, my honesty, and my desires. But I also give to you all the joys, experiences, sadness, depressions, excitements, anxiousness, pains, and everything about me and my life. In return I accept all of yours. Love is the main blood flow to the heart and if I cannot love someone, then I cannot pretend to. In order to love I have to be loved. If you cannot love me, then do not let time be wasted.

If there is anything I have learned since I started to experience relationships, it’s that if you are alone long enough, you will learn to love yourself. And you can’t love someone else until you do.

Leave a Reply

